India Assembly and Parliamentary Elections 2013

India Elections

Parliament of India comprises two houses Lok Sabha (Parliamentary) and Rajya Sabha (Assembly). Lok Sabha has 548 members, out of which 543 members elected for a 5 year term for only one seat Parliamentary Constituency and 2 members represent the Anglo-Indian community. On the other side Rajya Sabha has 245 members out of which 233 members elected for a six-year term. Indian National Congress and Bhartiya Janata Party are the most powerful political parties in India. Election Commission of India an authority who conduct elections under the Constitution of India. Any person or individual who is a legal citizen of India and above the age of 18 years would be eligible to enroll him/her self in voter list in the electoral rolls.

Party Logo and Name Party Acronym Year
Bharatiya Janata PartyBharatiya Janata Party BJP 1980
Communist Party of IndiaCommunist Party of India CPI 1925
Indian National CongressIndian National Congress INC 1985
Samajwadi PartySamajwadi Party SP 1992
Party Logo and Name Party Acronym Year
Aam Aadmi Party Aam Aadmi Party AAP 26 November 2012
All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam AIADMK October 1972
All India N.R. Congress AINRC 7 Feb 2011
All India Forward Bloc All India Forward Bloc AIFB 1939
All India Trinamool Congress All India Trinamool Congress AITC 1998
All India United Democratic Front AUDF 2004
India General Elections 2014
All 543 seats in the Lok Sabha - 272 seats needed for a majority
Party Congress
Alliance UPA NDA
Last election 262,37.22% 159,24.63%
Current seats 228 159
Seats needed 44 113
Polling Schedule for 2012 Assembly Elections in India
Manipur Punjab Uttara Khand Goa
Issue of Notification January 4
January 5 January 5 February 6
Nominations to be filed by January 11 January 12 January 12 February 13
Scrutiny of nominations January 12 January 13 January 13 February 14
Withdrawal of candidature by January 14 January 16 January 16 February 16
Date of Poll January 28
January 30 January 30 March 3
Counting of votes on March 6
March 6 March 6 March 6
Polls to be completed by March 9 March 9 March 9 March 9
Number of ACs 60 117 70 40