India Lok Sabha Election Schedule and Results

Summary of Schedules of India 2009 Elections

Summary of Schedules
Poll Event
Schedule Numbers & Dates
1 2A 2B 3A 3B 3C 4 5A 5B
1 Announcement & Issue of Press Note 02-Mar 2009 (Monday) 02-Mar 2009 (Monday) 02-Mar 2009 (Monday) 02-Mar 2009 (Monday) 02-Mar 2009 (Monday) 02-Mar 2009 (Monday) 02-Mar 2009 (Monday) 02-Mar 2009 (Monday) 02-Mar 2009 (Monday)
2 Issue of Notification 23-Mar 2009 (Monday) 28-Mar 2009 (Saturday) 28-Mar 2009 (Saturday) 02-Apr 2009 (Thursday) 02-Apr 2009 (Thursday) 02-Apr 2009 (Thursday) 11-Apr 2009 (Saturday) 17-Apr 2009 (Friday) 17-Apr 2009 (Friday)
3 Last Date for filing Nominations 30-Mar 2009 (Monday) 04-Apr 2009 (Saturday) 04-Apr 2009 (Saturday) 09-Apr 2009 (Thursday) 09-Apr 2009 (Thursday) 09-Apr 2009 (Thursday) 18-Apr 2009 (Saturday) 24-Apr 2009 (Friday) 24-Apr 2009 (Friday)
4 Scrutiny of Nominations 31-Mar 2009 (Tuesday) 06-Apr 2009 (Monday) 06-Apr 2009 (Monday) 11-Apr 2009 (Saturday) 10-Apr 2009 (Friday) 10-Apr 2009 (Friday) 20-Apr 2009 (Monday) 25-Apr 2009 (Saturday) 25-Apr 2009 (Saturday)
5 Last date for withdrawal of Candidature 2-Apr 2009 (Thursday) 08-Apr 2009 (Wednesday) 08-Apr 2009 (Wednesday) 13-Apr 2009 (Monday) 15 -Apr 2009 (Wednesday) 13-Apr 2009 (Monday) 22-Apr 2009 (Wednesday) 27-Apr 2009 (Monday) 28-Apr 2009 (Tuesday)
6 Date of Poll 16-Apr 2009 (Thursrday) 22-Apr 2009 (Wednesday) 23-Apr 2009 (Thursday) 30-Apr 2009 (Thursday) 30-April 2009 (Thursday) 30-April 2009 (Thursday) 07-May 2009 (Thursday) 13-May 2009 (Wednesday) 13-May 2009 (Wednesday)
7 Counting of Votes on 16-May 2009 (Saturday) 16-May 2009 (Saturday) 16-May 2009 (Saturday) 16-May 2009 (Saturday) 16-May 2009 (Saturday) 16-May 2009 (Saturday) 16-May 2009 (Saturday) 16-May 2009 (Saturday) 16-May 2009 (Saturday)
8 Date before which the election shall be
Completed
28-May 2009 (Thursday) 28-May 2009 (Thursday) 28-May 2009 (Thursday) 28-May 2009 (Thursday) 28-May 2009 (Thursday) 28-May 2009 (Thursday) 28-May 2009 (Thursday) 28-May 2009 (Thursday) 28-May 2009 (Thursday)
  Number of States/UTs  17   1  12  6  1  4  8  8  1
  Number of Parliamentary
Constituencies
 124  1  140  77  1  29  85  72  14